Feline Inflammatory Bowel Disease

ibd-is-one-of-the-top-issues-among-cats

Digestive Issues (Vomiting and Diarrhea) in Cats have consistently been listed as one of the primary reasons for veterinary visits. Inflammatory Bowel Disease and its associated symptoms are included in the top 10 reasons for annual veterinary visits.

However, it is often believed that the frequent vomiting and soft stool or diarrhea in cats are caused by the following reasons:

Eating too quickly

Sensitive gastrointestinal tract

Hairball Cough

但其實是Some long-standing(炎症性腸病)。

What is Inflammatory Bowel Disease?

Inflammatory Bowel Disease is a type of gastrointestinal inflammation, which is associated with an imbalance in the gut microbiota. Gastrointestinal motility issues (vomiting, diarrhea, constipation) can both cause and exacerbate this imbalance. In Some long-standing, this imbalance leads to inflammation, which typically affects nutrient absorption. The symptoms that appear in Some long-standing are related to the location of inflammation in the gastrointestinal tract. The common symptoms are frequent vomiting or episodes of diarrhea, which is why these symptoms are often misdiagnosed.

Diet is crucial for cats with Inflammatory Bowel Disease

food-additives-bad-for-cats

The following factors all have an impact on the intestinal microbiota of cats, thereby affecting their digestion and inflammation,

Processed food

Thickeners

Carbohydrates

Kibbles

Canned food

Protein content

For cats with Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD), the more natural, the better, as it can better meet their nutritional needs.

The more natural, the better.

your-first-homemade-food

Both homemade raw food and cooked food have significant benefits for cats. Raw food and cooked food are unprocessed by humans and do not contain unnecessary additives or preservatives, which minimizes the burden on the digestive system. They are more nutritious and suitable compared to kebbles and canned food. Many cats that transition to homemade food experience the disappearance of symptoms related to Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD), such as vomiting and diarrhea.

This does not mean that a raw food or cooked food diet "cures" IBD, but rather that it provides cats with the necessary nutrients - high meat content and high-quality protein (unprocessed food). This allows their digestive system to metabolize and gradually restore physiological balance, resulting in the alleviation and disappearance of symptoms related to IBD.

從貓咪嘔吐認識IBD

ibd-is-one-of-the-top-issues-among-cats

貓咪的消化問題(嘔吐和腹瀉)一直被列為獸醫訪問的首要原因之一。IBD(炎症性腸病)和他們一起被列入了每年去看獸醫的 10 大原因。

但經常地,都會覺得是以下原因導致貓咪頻繁嘔吐和軟便或腹瀉

。吃得太快

。腸胃較敏感

。需要吐毛球

但其實是IBD(炎症性腸病)。

什麼是IBD

IBD(炎症性腸病)是其中一種腸胃炎症,跟腸胃中的菌群失衡有關。胃腸動力問題(嘔吐、腹瀉、便秘)既可能導致細菌失衡,也可能因細菌失衡而加劇。在 IBD 中,這種不平衡導致炎症,通常會影響營養吸收。而在 IBD 中,出現的症狀與炎症在胃腸道中的位置有關。症狀通常是頻繁嘔吐或一段時間腹瀉,這就是為什麼這些症狀經常被錯誤診斷的原因。

飲食對IBD貓至關重要

food-additives-bad-for-cats

以下因素都對貓咪的腸道菌群有影響,從而影響貓的運動和炎症:

加工食品

含有增稠劑

含有碳水化合物

乾糧

罐頭

蛋白質含量

對於IBD貓咪來說,愈天然是愈好,愈能符合牠們營養所需愈好。

愈天然愈好

your-first-homemade-food

不管是生肉糧或是鮮食,對牠們都有莫大的好處。生肉糧及鮮食都是未經人類加工,沒有不必要的添加劑及防腐劑,對腸胃最少負擔,比起乾糧及罐頭更有營養及適合。很多貓咪轉換到生肉糧/鮮食,牠們的IBD(炎症性腸病)症狀,無論是嘔吐還是腹瀉都消失了。

這並不是說生肉餐或鮮食餐「治療」IBD,而是餵食貓咪所需要的營養—高肉類含量、高質量蛋白質(未經人類加工的食物),這令牠們的消化系統能夠代謝,逐漸能夠恢復生理平衡,IBD(炎症性腸病)症狀因而舒緩及消失。